Really….which department owns SM?

http://mashable.com/2010/05/17/social-media-ownership/

So this week’s assignment was to find a social media article that was of some interest to me.  I have read quite a few thus far, but really rather share one that was related to this week’s discussion topic.

Our Blackboard discussion has been full of debates—who really owns social media?  I made my initial reaction based off what I thought I knew from our readings and previous lectures – though after posting my thoughts, I stumbled upon this article that shares multiple views on who should own social media.

Surprisingly, no one really owns social media.  Everyone’s opinion and debate could be convincing enough to be true.  The real fact of the matter is that social media has become a blend of each department and therefore one particular department can’t OWN social media.

One interesting comment was made from a Twitter user: “@film_girl for us, Marketing owns social media. But maybe it’s because no one else knows what to do with it!”

This particular Twitter user is correct; social media is new to our culture and some people don’t know how to handle and maintain its content properly, so it falls into the marketing department’s hands—who really knows, it could stay there or maybe shift to another department later down the road.

As an example, Zappos.com doesn’t really see social media directly as a marketing function.  They provide tools to their employees to connect to customers and the outside world.  They use it as a public relations function, sales function, a forum, etc. So who controls their social media, a little bit of everyone?

 

About Spinto

Where to begin.... I was born and raised in the Burlington, Vermont area. After graduating college at Lyndon State College (wayyy northern Vermont), I moved to Massachusetts to work for a promotional products company. A few years later I relocated to western Massachusetts where I took a job at a community college as their in-house marketing manager. During this time, I decided to open the floodgates and own and operate my own business named Otnip Graphics. Otnip Graphics helps to positively promote business' through innovative marketing strategies and branded design collateral. All while this is going on, I decided I wanted to expand my knowledge in marketing to help our college keep a competitive advantage over local colleges, thus I enrolled myself in graduate school at SNHU to achieve my goals. Keeping myself busy and motivated is the only way I know and wouldn't change anything! On a more personal level (because I do have a personal life, I think...) I am getting married next October (Oct. 20) in Vermont. I have been chipping away at the large and small details to complete our wedding plans and hopefully while I accomplish all that I set out to do, I can relax and enjoy the wedding, and yes, the planning too. My hobbies include any kind of crafts/art projects I can get my hands on, watching brain rotting TV, skiing, running and enjoying time with my fiance and our little silky terrier, Pixie Lou.

One response »

  1. helenrobbins says:

    I think there will always be some sort of battle over who owns social media. I feel it should be a collaboration of ideas, goals and suggestions. When the people from various departments want to use social media for their agenda, guidelines and corporate goals should always be kept in mind. Each department needs to decide what they want out of social media and then incorporate it in the overall strategy. They must keep their message consistent and truthful. They must also protect the brand and address any concerns that viewers express on their page. It can be a daunting task but it is achievable.

Leave a Reply

